Platz der Friedlichen Revoluton Station

The City-Tunnel Leipzig is a new underground system in the saxon city Leipzig, which opened in December 2013. The underground line goes directly through the city centre from north to south and connects the main train station with the rail system leading south from Leipzig. The core of the City-Tunnel are the four underground stations beneath the city centre, which were all newly built and are shown below. They are from north to south: Hauptbahnhof (main train station) / Markt (marketsquare) / Wilhelm Leuschner Platz / Bayerischer Bahnhof (bavarian train station).

City Tunnel Leipzig StationCity Tunnel Leipzig Station Marktplatz U-Bahn Station City Tunnel Leipzig City Tunnel Leipzig Station

We had the chance to photograph the empty stations six weeks before they were inaugurated and even photograph from the track bed, which gave us the chance to create these otherwise impossible montage panoramas of the station architecture. The architects for the four stations are: HPP Hentrich-Petschnigg & Partner (Hauptbahnhof), Kellner-Schleich-Wunderling Architekten + Stadtplaner (Markt), Max Dudler (Wilhelm Leuschner Platz), Peter Kulka Architektur (Bayerischer Bahnhof). The station Wilhelm Leuschner Platz by Max Dudler was awarded the Architecture Prize of the city of Leipzig in 2013. Huge prints of the station montage images are available via the New Work Gallery Leipzig.

City-Tunnel Leipzig City-Tunnel Leipzig City-Tunnel Leipzig DB City-Tunnel Leipzig City-Tunnel Leipzig City-Tunnel Leipzig

all images: Jörg Rom